equipment dilema (LONG READ)

chammer

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
i wasnt sure where to put this as im quite new to dslr's, but this is sort of a commercial offer of sorts.

to make a long story short, a friend of my girfriend owns a modeling agency. we gathered the other night for a pet event and i was brought along to take some pictures. long story short is that her friend presented me with an offer. they need a photographer to fill a certain role (as of yet details are limited so im not 100% sure what that role is yet), and also her son is a professional photographer who has offered his assistance in my learning as well. at this point it sounds more like a freelance position more than an actual steady paying job. im fine with that as i have a 40hr/week (or more) job currently. this would be done on the side as a hobby and a chance to grow, however, i could get paid based on if the pictures i take are purchased.

so...i find myself here...

my girlfriend has fallen in love with my xsi, and so i gave it to her last night along with the kit lens. since i need to replace my equipment i figured i'd take a deeper plunge into the slr, and order a 50d. i did think about the nikon d300 but that may be overkill (and a bit more than i want to spend just yet) for right now. i also thought about the 40d which everyone praises, but its only $100 less.

cameralabs had this to say in comparison between the 40d and 50d

So the EOS 50D essentially takes the 40D body and adds 5 extra Megapixels, a VGA screen, HDMI output, four times the sensitivity and a number of processing and interface enhancements. If you value these improvements, then it’s worth spending the extra or for existing owners to upgrade, but remember the body, viewfinder and AF are the same, so if you want a tough and quick semi-pro DSLR at a bargain price, the 40D remains a superb choice.