essentials for studio set up?

mattfoley

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
HELLO ALL,
I'M A TOTAL BEGINNER, ABOUT TO PLUNGE INTO PHOTOGRAPHY- BOTH IN A STUDIO SETTING AND OUTDOORS. I EXPECT TO BE TAKING PRIMARILY PORTRAIT SHOTS- CLOSE UPS AND FULL BODY SHOTS. I WILL PROBABLY TAKE A CRASH COURSE TO GET THE BASICS DOWN. FOR NOW, IM TRYING TO FIND OUT ALL THE ESSENTIALS I NEED- CAMERA TYPE, LIGHTING & ACCESORIES, BACKDROPS..EVEN LOOKING TO GET A BLUE SCREEN. NEED TO FIND OUT WHAT KIND OF BUDGET I'LL NEED TO GET THIS GOING.
THANKS FOR ANY FEEDBACK! :hail:

You might want to start by finding the CAPLOCKS button on your computer and turn it off... it makes it look like your yelling (let me apologize for starting out by demonstrating some computer etiquette).

Why do you need all the equipment now? Should you take some photography classes and see if it's something you'll enjoy or whether or not your any good at it? Not trying to be rude but getting all the best equipment and computer software isn't necessarily going to make you any good at photography.

Second consideration is budget. How much do you have because you could easily spend $10k for the essentials for a portrait studio. I mean lighting and backdrops, etc.

I ust replied to your other post too.

As a learner you need to start slowly. Buy a camera and a lens and practice. Learn how to use your camera first and foremost.

As Jack says, your budget needs to be healthy. To start with (starting from scratch) I'd guess around $4k-$5 would be a reasonable starting point but you could easily spend $10k+ depending on what you require.

So start slowly. Learn to use the camera then expand as your knowledge grows.