Ethics Poll--Nude work

Nude photography for a public figure...good or bad?

• Total voters

Sharkbait

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.whitesharkphoto.com
Just kind of curious to get others' opinions. I'm interested in delving more into figure study and possibly some nude photography (all on the up-and-up, artistic side of things, of course). My wife holds that I shouldn't even think about it, being that I'm a teacher and somewhat in the local public eye because of that.

So what do you think of a person in my line of work (or something similar) doing some nude figure study type photography?

That's a tough one.

I would guess that 99.9% of the people out there would have no issue with it, or wouldn't make an issue out of it. But, I have a feeling there is a tiny percentage that may make a big deal out of it and, beyond that, may try to make a REALLY big deal about it.

So, although I don't think there is anything wrong with it and you should be able to do as you please, you may be running a risk of dealing with quite a bit of nonsense. :roll:

Just my thoughts...

I've given that some thought, also. A lot of my photography is children and will continue to be so, but I'm also interested in doing some figure studies. I could see where that might cause some parents concern, but I see them as two completely separate aspects of my art and don't want one to impact or prevent the other.

What I will probably do is just keep them separate both as far as display goes and also promotion. I haven't done any real nude work for public viewing yet, but I'm pretty sure that time will come. If someone has a real problem with that, then I won't be taking pictures of their kid.