Exposure Latutude vs Zones

satinder_2000

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I am a novice to Photography (actually picked a Camera after 5 years when earlier I used to Photograph with the f-16 rule :mrgreen: ). But now I am getting confused between the Concept of Exposure Latitude of the film and tendency of the Camera meter to read 18% gray.

E.g. if I have 'complex' subject, where the three areas of the Photograph have readings of 1/125 & f8 (normal gray), 1/125 & f16 (snow) and 1/125 & f4 (a black door). Obviously I'll shoot at 1/125 & f8. Now the film specification tells me that it has an Exposure Latitude of 2 stops. So a stop of overexposure and underexposure will not make any difference.

If I try to underexpose by 1 stop (from f8 to f11), I should see some gray tone in Snow (36% gray) and on 1 stop overexposure (say f5.6) I should be see some gray tone on black door. The Exposure Latitude statement claims there won't be any difference. :er:

Is there something i am missing?Why am I confused?

You are confusing 'exposure' with 'latitude' and they are not quite the same thing.
Exposure is to do with the amount of light the film receives.
Latitude is to do with how much over-exposure you can get away with and still produce useable results.
In order to really understand the difference you need to know how film works.
If you gave a film a range of exposures and measured the density produced on the neg, plotting the results on a graph would give you something like this:
TestG1.jpg

Density up the vertical axis, exposure along the bottom.
As you go up the plotted graph from bottom left to top right you are increasing exposure and therefore density.
The least amount of exposure (giving the lowest density or Dmin) is at point -1.
The maximum amount of exposure (giving the greatest density Dmax) is just above point 10.
As you go up the slope the density increases because the developed silver grains get larger. This means that as density increases, so does grain.