Fashion, portrait, conceptual photography

JackAlexanderUK

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Honest feedback: I think you're very talented, and at twenty years old, you've got a headstart on most.

I certainly hope you are here to help others learn and not just looking for page views and "facebook likes".
Seriously, you seem like you could become a valuable asset for to help others just starting out.

Look at a few fashion magazines...take a look at how many images are printed as "talls"...

Your image processing techniques are very good, especially for this modern era, but you could really benefit from a few classes in the arts. Composition, the study of the most-effective manner in which to utilize space, is an area where being self-taught can be a big hindrance. Your computer work is good, but the camera-work needs to be elevated to match the image processing and "creative" effects done in software.

Look at a few fashion magazines...take a look at how many images are printed as "talls"...

Agreed. It's as if no one told you that it's ok to turn the camera :D and I believe most fashion photography still ends up in magazines as "tall." Not that I'm an expert, I actually hate fashion, but that still seems to be what I run into.

I also didn't see much that made me think fashion. Portraits yes. Conceptual, no idea what that is.

That said, I agree that you have a head start. You have, however, still quite a bit to learn and if this is the thing you want to do, pick one (fashion, music, ...) and find yourself a job as an assistant with the biggest name in the field you can get.

Good luck to you.

Here are three web pages I just Googled, all showing the heavy emphasis on "talls" in fashion photographs....from Vogue and Elle web sites...

Review - BCBG Max Azria Spring 2012 - BCBG Max Azria - Collections - Vogue
BCBG Max Azria Spring 2012 - Collections - Vogue
Street Talk - Fall Trends - Discover More Street Style on ELLE.com