Few more night shots.......

Chicagophotoshop

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.chicagophotoshop.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
the first one I think I finally got right. second one was my first try and keeping the shutter open. something messed up in the middle of the photo. not sure how to fix it. but ok for a first try.

my settings for the first was ISO 400 f/9

DSC_0006_filtered.jpg

DSC_0017_filtered.jpg

Nice I like the traffic lights in the 2nd one

Very nice....I'm still learning my way around Chicago...is that North Michigan Ave?

yes. the first pic I am standing on the Michigan ave bridge looking west. the second is looking north on michigan ave at the bridge.

if you keep walking north, you hit all the shopping.

how do you get that effect with the traffic lights its really cool! Sorry im not that bright with my camera still.

Cheers

Stu

long exposures usually do that to the lights. u can also buy a filter which has the same effect

how do you get that effect with the traffic lights its really cool! Sorry im not that bright with my camera still.

Cheers

Stu

shutter was open for 4 seconds. but thats a long time, you need to make sure you have the correct manual settings. mine were f/22 iso was low 400-800 cant remember exactly. it was my first time so I have to try different combinations of ISO/aperture.

and a tripod is a MUST.

shutter was open for 4 seconds. but thats a long time, you need to make sure you have the correct manual settings. mine were f/22 iso was low 400-800 cant remember exactly. it was my first time so I have to try different combinations of ISO/aperture.

and a tripod is a MUST.

When I do night shots, I always do the lowest ISO possible...I'd much rather not have the grain. And I close the aperture down pretty far, and put it on a looooong exposure.

...but that's my personal preference. :p

So setting it for a long shutter time gave you that awesome tail light trail of the passing cars?