Film Q's - X-ray, freezing, 1-hour, etc.

Jess

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.geocities.com
So I was browsing some back posts and instead of bumping them up thought I'd post my leftover questions fresh.

Will airport x-ray's have an effect on developed negatives?

I understand that refrigeration can extend the life of film, freezing apparently even more so.... Freezing doesn't make the film brittle? I would have thought it does.

If you had to choose between 1-hour and a few days send away lab, which would you choose - Regarding quality? (Anyone is Sacramento, CA area know of reasonable priced camera shops that develope? Action Camera looked pretty expensive.)

Should I assume that unless the devolper that I'm using expressly indicates they do B&W that I should avoid developing any B&W w/ them?

Ok, I think that's my slew of Questions :) I'm about 1/2 way through my first SLR roll, lol. Wanna be prepared and I've had some really bad experiences with 1-hour photos and even a local Ritz Camera developer.

1... I wouldn't say xrays would have an effect of developed negs... But not sure..

2. Can't help, sorry.

3. It would depend on who it was sent to... If it was sent to kodak for example - it would probably be good quality. However, if you send it to one of the cheap places, it is likely they don't do colour corrections or anything on them, and therefore your photos could look terrible. (also, you might not have a choice between matte/gloss, etc.) Ask 1-hr places if they do colour corrections.

4. Ask them if they only process C-41. If they say yes, they only process C-41 - then don't give them your traditional b&w films... (However, some b&w consumer films are c-41 -- it will say on the film what chemicals to process it in.