Filters

Ptyler22

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.harvardpress.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
This is sort of a combo thread, a little C&C but I also have a question. I have heard that polarizers cut down on reflections and I find that a lot of my shots are ruined either from my reflection or other reflection in paint or chrome and such. Would a polarizer be the best option for reducing these types of reflections? Thanks

Green grass made the chrome green
IMG_0622copy.jpg

You can see grass and dirt in the chrome on the grill
IMG_1231tp.jpg

Theses types of hubcabs are some of my favorites but they really pick up reflections
IMG_1277tp.jpg

Thanks again!

I'm no expert, but I don't think a CP will due everything you have in mind in these situations. The green cast from the grass will still be there. What should be cut down, but not removed, is the real bright reflections, like the bright spot on the top of the metal on top of the tire (loosing my mind trying to remember what that part is called...) The reflections that have you in them will still be there too....

I think the best way might be to get the trucks parked on pavement so the reflections look fairly neutral, and watch where you are in the reflections to try and minimize.

Polarizers cut glare and, not reflection. Reflection is an image or, in the case of the grass a color cast. Glare is where the light blows out. In simple terms ofcourse.

Polarizers cut glare and, not reflection. Reflection is an image or, in the case of the grass a color cast. Glare is where the light blows out. In simple terms ofcourse.

Polarizing filters certainly do cut reflections quite well in glass, water, and in metal (though not as completely).

skieur

They're not miracle workers, but they do a nice job. Notice the effect on the glass.

Filter on, but not turned..................................................................Filter turned
CPL-filter-turned-Web.jpg
CPL-filter-with-Web.jpg