Final desicion, I swear. I'm getting a Nikon.

meganc

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I have decided to get the Nikon D40x. This is my final decision, I promise lol. Since I want the Nikon D80 and D200, but can't get them til later, I figured I should just get the D40x and upgrade. Now I studied a little more on the D80 than the D40x, so I have some questions. You can use the same lenses on the D80 as the D40x, right? I think I read somewhere certain lenses couldn't be used on the D40 as the other dslr's. But I'm not sure, so excuse me if it was a dumb question. Are there any good/bad things you want to point out about the D40x? And anything else you want to say would be nice.

The D40X lacks an internal Autofocus drive motor. So you can only use AF-S or AF-I Lenses which have an internal drive motor.

Thats the only lens disability that I know of.

from my understanding maddermaxx is CORRECT. it just means you can't use super old af lenses i think.

from what i've read the d40x is a steal.

Thanks
So if I wanted to get a 55-200mm f/4-5.6G ED AF-S DX lens, I could use it on the D40x and the D80, right?
And what lenses do you suggest? I was thinking about the 55-200, cause it's not that expensive, but what do you suggest that isn't too expensive?

That lens should work on both the D40X and D80.

I don't know anything about Nikons I'm a Canonite myself, But I'm pretty sure the AF-S will work on both the D40x and D80

Thanks.
I'm probably going to go to some stores tomorrow, so I'm most likely going to go to a camera store.
Well it's 4am, I better go to bed if I want to go out tomorrow lol.
I'll post more tomorrow if I go to the store, I'll probably post more if I don't lol.

from my understanding maddermaxx is CORRECT. it just means you can't use super old af lenses i think.

Nope it means you can't use about 60% of Nikon's current lens lineup as well. So no 50mm f/1.8 let alone the f/1.4. No 85mm MicroNikkor. No fisheye. Definitely no AI or AI-S lenses either.