Finding Assisting work

Phtoo

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi, Im a recent graduate from a photography and looking for assisting work. Just wondering what the best way to go about this would be? should i contact photographers directly? - what should i say?

Any advice from people who have done this before ?? thanks heaps

Just like applying for any other job. Put together a professional resume and then head out to the local photographers and introduce yourself: "Hi, I'm Sam, I just graduated from so-and-so and am looking to gain experience in the field. Are you considering hiring assistants? (If so) Here's a copy of my resume.

Consider joining a professional association. They are (sometimes) very open about helping emerging photographers and they might be able to set you up with a mentor etc.

Also, I don't think it would be out of the question to just contact photographers in your area, who's work you admire. E-mail or Phone call would probably be appropriate, but remember that this will be your first contact with them...and first impressions are big. I know a few photographers in my area who get A LOT of these propositions and many of them go ignored, simply because they don't have the time to respond to them all.

So make sure that if you send an e-mail, your spelling, punctuation and grammar are very good. Your post above tells me that you may need some work in this area.
If you are going to call them, be calm, polite, and respectful of their time. Be enthusiastic and passionate.
If you want to be a professional, you should act in a professional manor.