First DSLR camera choice, Help me out please !

Discussion in 'Photography Equipment & Products' started by Masquerade, Mar 11, 2012.

1. Masquerade

Masquerade TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Hello fellow photography friends,

I am a noob when it comes to Digital Cameras. I would like to develop photograhpy as a hobby. I travel to interesting countries much. Like India, Nepal, Egypt and Africa. And I realized everyone has professional cameras. I felt like so much oppurtunities missed, because there were many moments to catch.

So as a graduation present and birthday present I am entitled to one.
    I am not sure but I can spend up to 2500 dollars MAX with the lense and all.
    I have been investigating for some time now and I got
    *Canon EOS 600D
    *Nikon d5000
    *Canon EOS 40D
    *Nikon D90

Sorry for the long post but what do you guys propose ?
    I am a noob/beginner anyd advice is useful thanks '!

2. Masquerade

Masquerade TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    Furthermore I can not decide. These too sound appealing:
    *Nikon D300 or D300s
    *Nikon d80
    *Canon EOS 7D

Since this is my graduation present I can spend money and I want a lasting camera probably for many many years to come.

Last edited: Mar 11, 2012
  3. iresq

iresq TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    I'm a Canon guy so I'd say 7D. You will find many Nikon people with their suggestion. Your buying into a system so in your research, make sure you include lenses and accessories. I'd start with google/youtube. DPR is a great site for reviews.

4. Johnnie

Johnnie TPF Noob!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    I am also a Canon Shooter. Currently my camera of choice is the 7D. Remember, it is the system your purchasing into. Put them in your hands, get a feel for comfort etc. Good Luck with your choice.

5. Masquerade

Masquerade TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit