First impressions of the Canon 1D Mark IV

inTempus

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
This week I was able to take my new Canon 1D Mark IV to California with me (work related) and get some pics. I took the morning off work today and headed to Crystal Cove, Laguna Beach to take some pics before hoping on my flight home.

Here are a few observations about the new body.

- I used auto-ISO exclusively today. I've never used auto-ISO before with my other Canon bodies as it's been too unpredictable. I found absolutely no issues with the camera using this feature. I'm growing to trust it, but I need to shoot in a few more situations that are a little more demanding before I give it the nod. But so far, so good.

- The metering appears to be no different than my old 1D3. I found that the results I get with the Mark IV are exactly what I would expect to get with the Mark III. This is a good thing as I completely trusted my 1D3 and knew its weaknesses and strengths. All cameras have them. The fact they're the same is comforting as it's one less thing I have to learn.

- The RAW files it produces are simply stunning. The tones feel very similar to the 1D3 but the details are slightly better. As you zoom in on your shots the retained details are absolutely amazing. I'm very happy with the IQ of the new body.

- The AF system is looking very good. I tracked some flying birds and running kids and it never skipped a beat. It locks focus and stays locked. No hunting around at all. Even in low light, it really does a great job. I would say in low light it is noticeably better than my 1D3. I screwed with it for hours in my hotel room at night and was impressed with how quickly it locked focus.

- I've found no need for micro-adjustment. All of my lenses are razor sharp that I've used so far. That being by two primary lenses, the 24-70 and 70-200 f/2.8 IS. Here's a pic from today taken with the 70-200:

765423088_qArNP-XL.jpg