First Newborn Shoot, need some help!! CC

MuddyRiver

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.muddyriverphoto.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
These are the results from my first newborn session. She was actually 22 days old. Unfortunately, I am more of a natural light photographer and do not have any type of professional lighting equipment and due to the situation we were taking these photos inside her very dark living room. I took these for a friend.

I used my T1i, 17-35mm 2.8L lens, two mini studio lights (held by hand where I needed them), and was constantly changing my camera settings as to find the 'right' ones. I am satisfied with my results, especially for my first time and the lighting situation, but I would like some tender CC for next time and some advice on editing. I received Lightroom for Christmas and I am still learning to use it. :blushing:

I have attached some of the photos, the first few include both original and edited. I would love any advice on how to better edit them to get the typical newborn look. Also, please let me know which ones are your favorites. Thank you!

unedited
$IMG_0165_zps3c9016c7.jpg
edited
$k-19_zps7d18d889.jpg

unedited
$IMG_0124_zps70bc565f.jpg
edited
$k-21_zpsbd81264a.jpg

unedited
$IMG_0058_zps791eb57b.jpg
edited
$k-2_zps8e74adc8.jpg

unedited
$IMG_0016_zpsfafc1140.jpg
edited
$k1of1-2_zps32904215.jpg

$k-6_zps5cb9fccb.jpg

$k-24_zps171484ee.jpg

Again, thank you for any HELPFUL c&c and feel free to do some example editing if you feel the need.

Jess

Very cute! You are deservedly proud of this little one! I think #1 is by far your best of this portfolio. IMHO the backgrounds of 2-4 are distracting. 5's expression is adorable but i am immediately and lastingly drawn to the dress and bow not her face. 6 is almost there. The hanging arm looks disturbing cut off and the infants right eye is distored from its weight.... This is pretty nit-piky... stuff... I think you are well on your way.