First paying customers

Boudreaux

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Can any professionals who already have established businesses please help me. I am a photographer who is ready to open up shop instead of giving out freebies. I have done several portraits on a voluntary basis to get the experience i need. I have gotten great feedback and I have inquiries on my pricing. My question is, as a new business in photography what are some reasonable prices to offer at first? I specialize in lifestyle portraiture, seniors, families, children, babies

Your prices will depend on your overhead, like insurance, marketing and such, and your wages, profit margin. Are you actually starting a business, or just looking to get paid for a hobby? Have you looked into a vendors license, and sales tax?

well, it started as a hobby but I am turning what i love into a business. All of the things you said i understand. My overhead is small right now because i am only shooting either on location or at my home(i have beautiful scenery), I have no employees, marketing will cost the most for now I am assuming. I already have a website (its unpublished because I am still perfecting it). I will need to get a sales tax license and already printed the forms and will be submitting that this week. Vendors license, do I need that because I am selling a product(pictures themselves)? I use Millers lab for photo processing so wouldn't that be the vendor? I hope that was not a question marked with stupid written on it!

You are providing a service, which gets taxed, regardless who prints your photos.

Basically you need to charge enough to more than cover your costs and make a profit. As a home "studio", you can include "rent" and that provides some tax write offs.

ok, thank you for your help and insight i truly do appreciate it

Your welcome. Sorry it's not specific advice. There are just a lot of variables.