First self developed roll, a few small problems

dennisC

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hey guys, im new here so please be gentle with me lol. I was curious as to why only a few of my exposures came out like but the rest came out fine. Sample below.

why.jpg

(the scan on the left, the negative on the right)

Also, down the entire roll on the edge by the holes of the film there was a thin line on both edges of "darker area" just kind of curious as to why this is too. My guess would be it is not developed enough? I developed using kodak d76 and the film was fuji neopan 400. I had some troubles mixing the developer powder because I could only store half of it so I only made half of the package so Im kind of paranoid that I mixed too little/much of developer. Any replys would be helpful as im new to this. Thanks.

-Dennis

PS. A few images from the roll. Scanned negatives with a Epson V330.

6157465557_b42d443aa5_z.jpg

6157462983_6330bbeca5_z.jpg

The first frame shows a trapped bubble which happened during development. The inconsistant develpment in other frames says you aren't tappingout the bubbles after agitations and/or you aren't agitating enough.

I normally agitate 10 sec every minute. I invert my tank as I listen to the gurgeling of the solution to stop between inversions. At the end of each agitation I sharply bang the tank on a paper towel on my bench top to be sure the bubbles rise to the top, this step takes about 5 sec.

Also watch how you wind the film onto the reels. Sometimes you get the film toutching eachother and that will show as undeveloped portions in your negs.

Practice till you get it perfect, it's only taking me all my life.

That looks like a section of the negative was touching another, which means it didn't get developed. Just practice as has already been mentioned.