First shot as RAW!

Deadeye008

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.hamblinphoto.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
After reading an article about RAW I decided to give it a shot. The first picture is the RAW that I tweeked and converted to a .png file and the bottom is the jpeg I simultaneously took when taking the RAW file. Let me know what you think and how I can make it better. Just remember don't be too harsh because this is my first attempt;)
Dandylion.png

Dandylion2.jpg

I actually like the JPEG version better. The RAW version's saturation looks to be over-the-top, and has caused the detail in the flower to be lost. Try re-running the RAW file with a little less saturation.

Yeah, you've got tonal block in the RAW file, too much saturation.

This is an excellent use of RAW format. I had reasons to like both.

When editing the RAW image switrch on the highlights that tell you whether you are clipping the highlights and/or shadows.

If you see a red fill appearing over areas you are clipping the highlights. Adjust the exposure or recovery to reduce the blown out or over saturated areas. And if you see a blue fill, you are clipping the shadow area. reduce the black or the fill sliders.

You'll start to see the differences and your photos will start to look better. Using a small amount of contrast can help give your images a nicer look without clipping.

Thanks all for your replies and knowledge! I was having so much fun with this I decided to go and take some more pics in my yard to play with. I think I did a better job on this one. The top is the RAW I converted and the bottom is the jpeg shot simultaneously. (These are middle-resolution copies of the originals by the way). I'd like to hear some more comments. Thanks.
20070424_0294aweb.jpg

20070424_0294web.jpg