First thread with photos for CC

graphite

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I'm brand new and would like to get some C&C on some recent photos. I am brand new to photography so any input is appreciated:

1. Balanced Rock - Arches National Park, Utah
Nikon D50, 24mm Nikkor lens
fbdb09ef.jpg

2. Christmas tree decorations
Nikon D40x, Nikon 35mm f/1.8G AF-S DX Prime Lens
67d57070.jpg

Last edited:
Welcome to the forum! C&C per req:

1. A nice image, I very much like the flare here, but I think the foreground would benefit from a slight increase in brightness and saturation. I'm also inclined to think that a tighter crop removing some of the sky, foreground and empty space image left would make for a much stronger final product.

2. Ahhhhhh you've discovered selective colour. Okay, now do your best to undiscover it! ;) Seriously, this is a technique that almost everyone tries soon after they start post-processing, and it rarely works out. Selective colour is used (should be used) to draw the viewer's eye to a particular point in the image. So the question to ask is, "Why do I want to look at this ball and not the others?". If you can't answer that, then selective colour may not have ben the best choice.

Just my $00.02 worth - your mileage may vary.

~John

Welcome to the forum and very nice photos. I have only been to Utah once so I didn't get time to do a lot of sight seeing but I enjoyed it.

Welcome to the forum. First impressions...