First time night shots/car light trails

ROACHCLASS

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hello,

I'm relatively new to photography. I've had my D40 for awhile but always just used 'Auto' to shoot in the daylight. Tonight I decided to go out and mess around after seeing some nice night shots. So, if you guys could please critique my photos as I said this was my first time going out at night and I loved it. I know there not good and I need to adjust settings and what not. But I sure do like night shooting!

https://flic.kr/p/nQ1FCh

https://flic.kr/p/nzyuRB

https://flic.kr/p/nTQECz

I know the first picture is bad. I was trying to get the lights mostly and you can't really see the building. The two car trails seem pretty good I think. Again, please be honest and let me know what I can do to improve. Thanks in advance!

Second one is amazing! Love that you have captured the beautiful curve. The 3rd is one is a bit dark and hence does not work.

Yea the 2nd one is interesting as it was a tow truck or something with a top light..hence space between the two trails.

Your shots are very nice but I wish you would have upload it here in the post so everyone can see it straight away instead of clicking to see your shots.

I like #2 too...it is very interesting...did you take these shots near your home? What were your settings?

Your shots are very nice but I wish you would have upload it here in the post so everyone can see it straight away instead of clicking to see your shots.

I like #2 too...it is very interesting...did you take these shots near your home? What were your settings?
To be completely honest I didn't even look at the settings, although I still have the shots on my camera. And yes, from here on I'll post the direct pictures instead. Thanks!

Keeping track of the settings is how you learn :)

FYI, flickr will save this info for you for each shot:

First Picture:
Nikon D40
18-55mm f/3.5-5.6
ƒ/11.0 55.0 mm
5 second exposure
ISO 200
No flash
Manual