First Time Shooting a Skyline

I'm a fan of foreground interest in landscapes / cityscapes, so I'm not sure I'd get rid of the shoreline altogether, but I might consider recomposing to put something interesting there, assuming you can find something.

If you feel like trying some light HDR techniques, you might be able to tone down some of the areas where the bright lights are blowing out a bit.

Finally, I think I spotted a couple dust spots (top-left quadrant) -- not uncommon when you start stopping down, but easily fixed in your favorite editing package.

Wow, I didn't think people would think it's all that good. :)

I personally like the bit of ice on the shore, so I'll leave that, but I will fix the tilt to it. I didn't even recognize it was slightly off.

Lambertpix - there's actually a few pieces of dust on the sensor :(

You don't get to post such nice photos without telling us the setting you used:)
And since I am still learning, include as many boring details as you want.

Also, I have not used my camera in cold weather yet. Will be on trip soon and will do skyline shots. How long does a battery last with live view, long exposures, etc.
thank you, nicely done.
Nancy

Please remove the dust from photos because it destroy all of good impression that Your photos can make. Those are very good actually!
A little improvement can be done on the first one in area of vertical lines correction (there is slight distortion or just consequence of keeping lens a little bit upturned).
Additionally You can try regaining some more details from the brightest parts of the photo but in night shots its difficult to achieve in single exposure.

You don't get to post such nice photos without telling us the setting you used:)
And since I am still learning, include as many boring details as you want.

Also, I have not used my camera in cold weather yet. Will be on trip soon and will do skyline shots. How long does a battery last with live view, long exposures, etc.