First time shooting food. need some c&c please

dearlybeloved

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
So I shot some food items for my work (I work as a server) for some extra money and experience. It was my first time working with food so I'd would like to get some feedback on how I did and what I could have done better. I want to start by saying that I had less than 30 minutes to set up my shots (it wasn't worked around my ideal scheduling) since they were bringing the food out right before we opened. I was also able to barrow 2 alien bee mono lights (400 and 800) with 2 umbrellas. It was all I had to work with some keep that in mind when giving feedback.

What I did was set the two lights over each shoulder and raised about 6 feet and tilted down. I was trying to keep a dark background and focus on the food. since I had little time, I took a few plates and filled them up as best as I could and set brought them to the back room and found a few extra props to work with.

Thanks for looking!

$desertbarsmall.jpg$desertbar2small.jpg$omletbarsmall.jpg$omletbar2small.jpg$platedfood2small.jpg$plated foodsmall.jpg$platedfood3small.jpg$piesmall.jpg

Nice pictures , but i would have loved to see sexier food

Less is more. You are trying too hard I think. Trying to put everything in one frame does not work IMO. Just pick ONE main subject, kinda make the other OOF. The last shot with the pie is your best shot. That is exactly what you need to do. Also, the food does not look very good. The mac and cheese look bad, string bean does not look fresh, grilled chicken does not look appetizing.

Get closer and focus in on one plate....... to many choices to look at here draw the eye all over the place. These show off the setting and food service ok, but as far as showcasing the food it misses out because there is just too much in each shot.