First time trying out my camera. Comments welcomed.

Ditto110

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
This is the first time I have really gotten to use my camera. I like this photo except for the noise. This is in Ottawa at the Rideau Canal. I went there this past weekend for winterlude. This was shot with a Rebel T3. f29, 30 second shutter, 35mm focal length, iso 400 with the kit lens.

6889249879_60bfc0433e_z.jpg

This is my first try at shooting a sunset. This photo was shot with f16, shutter at 30 seconds, 18mm focal length, and iso 200

Any comments on how to make these better is appreciated!

6889249865_856415bb7b_z.jpg

Last edited:
Very nice; I think in #2 I might consider cropping some of the foreground, but I like the leading line effect created by the roadway starting image left lower corner.

f/29?

Are you aware of the focus softening effects of diffraction, which starts at about f/11 or so?

f/29?

Are you aware of the focus softening effects of diffraction, which starts at about f/11 or so?

Nope. All I knew (or thought, rather) was that higher aperture means higher DOF, and I wanted DOF for that shot. That's something for me to look into though!

f/29?

Nope. All I knew (or thought, rather) was that higher aperture means higher DOF, and I wanted DOF for that shot. That's something for me to look into though!