First try at high key

jmthompson

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.jmthompsonphoto.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
This is my first try at high-key lighting and I would love to get some feedback! I was having difficulty with consistent lighting on my white paper using two 430EXII speedlights with reflective umbrellas on the paper, set at +3 exposure, and one 580EXII speedlight with a Honl reflector off camera to the left about 20 degrees. Should the umbrellas be shoot thru rather than reflective to allow a more even spread of light? Also wondering about the placement of my 580 and whether there should be more dimension (shadows) on the face when trying for a high-key effect? I know high-key shouldn't be synonymous with "flat lighting"!

1128038779_MgTmq-L.jpg

1128039108_LqSd4-L.jpg

Thank you for any tips or critique!

I like both for lighting but the second one is my favourite. The hair in the first image seems to overpower the picture. That added to the fur rim of the coat - just seems like huge amounts of hair and fur. Second picture is nice and clean but the tone seems darker. Like a brown tint or something. The colours in the first image came out cleaner I feel.

Nice job and thanks for sharing.

Cheers
Jim