Fixing An Industrial C-41 Processing Machine

Dave Colangelo

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
An interesting project has just come across my bench and I thought this might be of interest to a few people here:

I was at my local lab the other day and sadly found out their C-41 machine had stopped working. They knew I was an engineer and quickly asked me "how my soldering skills were". It turns out the machine had started smoking from the "mother board" and stoped processing properly. They took me over to it and the tech pointed out where it was smoking from. I snapped a pic of the unit and went home to do some research. A lot of internet trolling and I found out that the control relays on these units had a bad habit of shorting out. Since the heater tank was located essentially on the other side of a metal wall the excess heat causes the whole board to be fairly hot when in use. Anyway with the board in the unit I could not see any part numbers on the relays and the internet was less than helpful in identifying them. The shop happens to have the board from a processor that went kaput about 10 years ago which they pulled out of storage. turns out that board had the same relay issue but there are about a dozen or so relays so some are salvageable. Step 1 is pulling the relays form the old board for salvage,

IMG_6192.jpg

they are the slim black things on the left hand side. Thankfully once we pulled the boards from each unit we could see the part numbers on them so we can order fresh replacements but at $14 a relay they wanted to see if we could get these salvaged ones in first. The machine in question is an older Noritsu for those wondering.

More to come...

Dave

Last edited:
Spend last night pulling the relays form the salvage board and it looks like we are in business. Ran out of desolder wick so there is more inbound for pulling the ones off the board they need:

IMG_6194.jpg