Flash diffuser

Okie Photo©

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I recently purchased a Nikon SB-600 flash unit. I am wanting to get a diffuser for it, I was wondering what your thoughts are on "the best" diffuser.

I have been looking at:

Just your standard diffuser:
SBM Supreme Light Diffuser for The Nikon SB600 and Olympus FL-36 Flashes

and...

I recently watched a wedding photographer use one of these:
Flash Lambency Diffuser for Nikon SB800 SB600 Speedlight - Wholesale Factory Direct

It seemed to me that the second diffuser spread the light a good bit more than a standard diffuser does. Just wondering if anyone has any experience with either and which you guys would suggest.

$52 for the Fong Dong? I'd rather go with the dome diffuser for a tenner.

I have seen the Gary Fong diffusers. Is there really anything special about them or is it just paying for a name. I am VERY new to the flash game, so honestly I do not know.

The Fong globe looks a lot like the $10 dome I posted....

You can get by with generic Tupperware if you really want to save money (seriously), used clear film canisters work as well.

I like Gary Fong's stuff because I know how it works, it lasts, fits well and does what I need (when I need it). I've tried paying less and the fit is never right, now I just stick with what I know will work.

You can get by with generic Tupperware if you really want to save money (seriously), used clear film canisters work as well.

I agree. A few weeks ago, I took a small Tupperware container and with 2 small cuts and a couple of bends, made an excellent diffuser for a one off photo I was taking and it turned out excellent.

It's flexible, and fits nicely in the top section of my Lowepro camera backpack. Plus it's not the type of thing you need to carry with you wherever you go.

Take a look at lumiquest. I don't have a flash yet but they seem like a pretty decent idea.