Focus Shift Shooting + Tethering Problem - Product Photography (Help!!)

Nikon D850 won't Focus Shift Shoot whilst camera is tethered to Lightroom CC

• Focus Shift Shooting

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Tethering

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters

Nikonian_Newbie

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi all,

I hope all are well.

I'm fairly new to photography and have just upgraded to the Nikon D850 mainly due to the fact it has the snazzy feature of focus shift shooting (photo stacking). I will be using the camera prominently for product photography but now I have such a beast I'm finding myself taking photos of everything :D

The reason for my cry for help is that I cannot use the feature whilst tethered to my laptop running Lightroom CC as you can only focus shift shoot when the camera is in live view mode and whilst tethered the camera won't allow this. Annoyingly I am having to disconnect the tether cable every time I take the stacked shots, Is there a way around this as I don't want to wear the camera connection point out?

Many thanks

Aaron

Simple: shoot un-tethered when doing focus stacks. Take the training wheels off. Most likely in less than 1 month you will learn how to shoot your focus stacks like a pro. Once you cease relying so much on tethering, your skill as a photographer will grow, probably to the point where you are no longer in need of tethering.

Have the D850 and use focus stacking (shifting) all the time for macro shots. It does not have to be in LV mode. This is from David Busch's D850 book: "If shooting using the optical viewfinder, press the focus mode button and rotate the main dial to choose AF-S (single focus) and the sub-command dial to choose Single Point AF. You can also us Focus Shift in Live View mode; select Normal Area AF instead." I've never tried it tethered, but I'll give it a try and let you know if I get it to work.