Focusing Issues with EF 50mm f/1.8 II

Juga

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello all. I have a Canon T4i and recently bought a EF 50mm f/1.8 II because it is cheap! However I have had extreme issues with its AF so I switched to MF. When I use MF it appears to be focused in the viewfinder but when I go back to review my photos all of them look out of focus. I am wondering if this is a common issue with this lens or is it because I am a noob. Please advise!

Could you show us a few example photos? Detail clearly the method you used to get the photo as well as the aperture, shutter speed and ISO that you used. There could be a variety of issues which you're experiencing so the more details and examples you can provide the better we can work out what the problem is.

As a very basic comment the lens itself shouldn't have any problems delivering a sharp shot, it might be a cheap lens but that is mostly because its a massmarketed product and also a very common and simple (and yet effective) design.

Could you show us a few example photos? Detail clearly the method you used to get the photo as well as the aperture, shutter speed and ISO that you used. There could be a variety of issues which you're experiencing so the more details and examples you can provide the better we can work out what the problem is.

As a very basic comment the lens itself shouldn't have any problems delivering a sharp shot, it might be a cheap lens but that is mostly because its a massmarketed product and also a very common and simple (and yet effective) design.

I will certainly do that tomorrow as I don't have access to my photos right now. I know the lens is capable which is why I purchased it...maybe an adjustment period to go use to it I guess. Either way I will post some stuff tomorrow with details.

Make sure your diopter is adjusted correctly.

Did this prior to my post and didn't seem to make a difference.