Fog/shop lights?

Sunnylee

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey I am not a professional photographer. I just want to get some lights so I can take better pictures. I was thinking that I could just buy some fog or shop lights, think that would work ok? Any other ideas?

I really don't even know what to search for when looking online. Is there a special name or would I just type in professional photography lights?

Any advice is much appreciated, I want to be a suicide girl so I need to start practicing taking picture sets, although I will probably hire a pro when I am ready.

From my experience I bought some shop lights just to use as some backdrop lighting. The problem that I ran into is that they are extremely yellow. If using a flash this develops into a problem since its difficult to make the transition of the "flash" light and the shop light.

I'm not for sure what you have for equipment, but I would definitely rec. off camera flash if it is possible. You should definitely check out the strobist for some great direction on lighting. Hope that helps.

the other BIG problem with shop lights, is they are damn hot, i tried them for 1 shoot, and my model just ended up sweating a LOT.. the yellow is also very annoying

Flashes bug me alot, and since this is just for personal use I don't wanna spend alot of money. I've been reading other forums trying to learn what I can. If it wouldn't cost too much I would like to find a small lighting setup on amazon or something.

Do you have an idea for a budget? That might help some people point you in the right direction.

"Wouldn't cost TO MUCH" is different for everyone. ;)

I would say under $500, 100-200 even better.

Flashes bug me alot, and since this is just for personal use I don't wanna spend alot of money. I've been reading other forums trying to learn what I can. If it wouldn't cost too much I would like to find a small lighting setup on amazon or something.