syphlix

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.gregorytran.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi there,

Took these the other day at DiFara's... the acclaimed pizzeria in Brooklyn...

I can't seem to ever take nice shots of food and i'm not sure why.

Can i get any comments/critiques/criticism on my shots?

Thanks!
3777057106_9569a1764f_b.jpg
3776250621_6c090b63cd_b.jpg

I think the first one needs a bit better focus, the last one a bit of a wider angle. Otherwise, you have me drooling and wanting to call out for pizza tonight. I think that should be the goal of any food photographer - making someone salivate like Pavlov's dogs. So, in that you've succeeded, at least for me.

I agree with the first photo being slightly out of focus. But overall I think they look great. Maybe taking a photo of a slice of pizza without a bite out of it might help. And possibly messing with the saturation of the colors.

But overall, great shots.

I am by no means an expert on food photography, but the best photos of food I've seen have a few common qualities:

*Good lighting (even and concentrated on the food)
*A pleasing point of view (too close here IMO and not wide enough)
*Pleasing bokeh (or just good OOF background)
*NO PEOPLE :p (takes focus off of the food, which should be the center of attention)

The second one isn't bad, just the lighting is a bit flat and it's too "in your face" for my liking. The first one could be a bit tighter. Keep trying! :)

tighter means filling more of the frame?

the first picture i included Dom bc he's as much a part of the pizza as the pizza is... if that makes any sense... i thought it was cool that the painting of him was behind him as well :p

tighter means filling more of the frame?
Yes.
the first picture i included Dom bc he's as much a part of the pizza as the pizza is... if that makes any sense... i thought it was cool that the painting of him was behind him as well :p