Football tips and tricks

Luke345678

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello there everyone,

I am part of the Yearbook staff at my High School. As the Freshman in the class I don't want to be the one that is holding everyone back. I'm not a professional by any means but I consider myself a decent photographer. I can take nice photos and I know all the basics but I've never been really good at sports photography.

Tomorrow is the first Football game that I've been assigned too and I'm a bit nervous. I want to snag a few really good shots but this is my weakest point in photography itself... I always seem to capture blur around the ball and it can be a bit aggravating. I have adobe after effects CS6 and Photoshop elements so taking care of the blur isn't that big of a problem but some times it can be a challenge. It'd be nice to just not have the blur at all.

I was wondering if there were any tips and tricks you guys could throw at me. Specific settings, angles, interesting shots, ect. The games will take place during the day and night so suggestions for both the times are much appreciated!

Thanks,

-Luke

What you will want to do is keep your shutter speed no slower than 500th sec, and your f stop between 5.6-6.3, this will depend on the light you are working with, for the day games you should have no problem, adjust your iso until you can keep it in this range. The night game will present different problems based on the camera and lens that you are using, but you will have to try and keep the shutter speed around that 500th mark, the f-stop will change and adjusting the iso will be necessary.