Footbridge... Beginner C&C appreciated! :)

Senor Hound

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Here's a photo of a footbridge I took. I'm a novice so please make your critique generalized (next time try...). I know its straight in the middle, but I did that for balance. Also, the background is blown out, but I don't know how to make it so that isn't so. And I know the subject is uninteresting to most, but I'll be honest and admit I'm forcing subjects in order to keep learning (and I think that's okay considering this photo is for educational purposes and not show, right?). Lastly, how did I do on the contrast? I think its better than most of my photos with the way the shadows fall, but I would like some more advanced opinions.

2595034560_f8558527e3_o.jpg

Once again, please make your comments as general as possible so I can hopefully get this :) Thank you very much!!! BTW, my reasons don't make me right, I'm just trying to show you where I'm coming from. Please correct me if I'm making any incorrect assumptions.

Footbridge:
Composition: - straight is okay. It's the damn utilitarian park fence and glarish balaustrades that spoil it...
What's behind you - the view the oher way? Any better..??
Overexposed: not just the background, also the wooden bridge steps and the stones in the foreground and those glaring balaustrades...
The bridge is interesting - the doggy view spoils it... try shooting from chest height or eye level - or get higher...
Exposure / Contrast...
The whole is overexposed.
Where did you meter?? - Looks like the dark (tonal) bridgeposts... Your meter has increased the exposure. See how the bridgeposts are now a middish grey... dark areas are not dark... light areas are all too light... shadows light grey...
Shoot early in the day or late afternoon - capture the shadows, avoid the harsh daytime sunlight... Watch your metering...
You know...