For the budding photographer...websites!

Nikato

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
So I am a budding photographer. Bought myself a Nikon D3100 camera and kit plus a 50-200mm lens the other day. Got myself a mac mini and am upgrading the ram to the max (8gb) and getting a 7200rpm hard drive put in it. Going to learn how to use Ap 3 and will have external hard drives for picture storage.

So, hard ware side i am doing well i think. My question however is portfolios and websites. I have seen several links for making your own website but i don't believe i had enough skill or am "pro" enough to have my own. I was thinking more like, free places to get my work out there.

For example I will be signing up for the model mayhem websites. I have a few friends that model and found that their are quite a few photographers on the site. Another idea I had was making a facebook page (or what ever) and linking it to my main facebook so I can promote myself.

Does anyone know of any other websites similar to the above that i can use to get myself out there? Also, are the above two mentioned ideas any good?

The only other thing besides that that I need to do is come up with a name. I was thinking of using my name and then "photography" but it sounds so plain. I do want to sound professional though. How did people end up with the names they have now?

You forgot the most important part... getting good at photography. Might want to schedule a couple years for that...

You forgot the most important part... getting good at photography. Might want to schedule a couple years for that...

No, I don't believe I forgot anything. Photography is a form of art. It requires preparation and time. You can have been shooting for years and not know how to properly set up a shot. There are people who have taken photos for years that are horrible at it because they have no artistic bone in their body even.