From Nikon D60 to?? Amateur who could use some advice!

ShihTzuMama

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hello,

I read another thread in this forum where someone asked what would be a great upgrade to a D60. I believe someone told her the D5100 and above.

Unfortunately, I think I might have made a mistake. I have been using the D60 for 5 years. I do not consider myself a professional, but an amateur/hobbyist. I began to feel like my camera was becoming outdated, especially with all of the 24 MP cameras coming out. I am not necessarily looking for an upgrade, just a lateral change with the updated technology.

Here's where I think I made my mistake: I purchased the Nikon D3200 bundle from Costco on Saturday. I didn't realize how important the size of the sensor was as far as lighting was concerned until after I tried it out and saw that all of my photos were dark (apparently the D60's sensor is larger than the D3200's). I always shoot in aperture (remember, I am a beginner with no formal training) but will also shoot a few photos in auto mode as a backup in case my settings aren't adequate. Today, I used the D3200 for the first time. It was a sunny morning at 9 a.m, OUTDOORS. The photos that I shot in auto were all very, very dark. Ridiculously dark. They never would have looked this way on my D60. The photos that I shot in aperture were different, too. I used to be able to shoot using 100 ISO outside (many times without a flash) but in order to achieve the same effect, I was having to shoot in 200 ISO and (get this) 400 ISO WITH a flash. With my D60, these photos would have been WAY over-exposed but with this camera, I was getting just enough light.