Fuji Velvia 50 samples and question about grainy black

ulrichsd

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Ok, so I'm 34 so I'm old enough that I've taken a lot of film photos in my youth. But this is my first time using slide film. Some of my photos from my first roll I'm pretty happy with. But I've noticed that the blacks have noticeable grain, some more than others.

Here's a full example, it doesn't look bad at small resolution or 4x6in, but a tight crop shows what I mean. (the 1 photo is my best black grain, the 2 photo is a crop of one of the worse examples). These were developed and scanned by Dwaynes photo.

If anyone was curious on the location, its Put-In-Bay, Ohio.

Thanks,
Scott

1. Fuji Velvia 50
50velvia1a.jpg

2. Fuji Velvia 50
50velvia1b.jpg

Here's another shot, I'm pretty happy with all the shots that don't have silhouette
3. Fuji Velvia 50
50velvia2.jpg

I wonder if Dwaynes uses a Noritsu.. doesn't look like anything i've seen off a Frontier. The scanner has everything to do how grain and tone is rendered. When it comes to grain, Frontier's have a "rounder" look to them, Noritsu's look like digital noise because of how the line scanner works. Considering it's a silhouette, try doing a .3 Gaussian blur on the whole image and crushing the blacks in curves, might make it look more like film and alleviate some of the noisy grain.

The gaussian blur thing is what I do with my Noritsu scans from RPL, it makes a huge difference and you don't lose any real detail.

Full Image:
6929343726_cd4501f654_b.jpg

100% crop from scan, TIGHT detail, but odd looking grain:
6929343814_503ce3055c_z.jpg

Adding a .3 gaussian blur, not quite as tight, but still great, and looks more like film grain:
7075419411_cf2ff887fa_z.jpg