Getting Into Wedding Photography

TUX424

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
hey guys
Im a high school student with a Nikon D70 looking to get started in Wedding Photography or really any type of event photography because i am looking to maybe do photography as a profesion after college. I was wondering if anyone could give me some tips on how to get into this sorta field. I understand u have to crawl before you can run. I was really looking for a startes guide i guess on how to make a profesion of photography
thanks for any help/time given to replying

The best way to learn how to do weddings is to assist/second shoot with a pro. Even if you're not getting paid anything, the experience is worth it. You need to have your basic photography skills down before most if not all pros will hire you. You really have to have the desire to do weddings, they are a lot of hard work.

Join DWF, lots of good info there. The start membership is free. Nothing but wedding photographers in that forum.

Read, shoot, read more, shoot more.

Read books about wedding photography.

thanks i was wondering what DWF stood for
also i feel that i have my basics down i have been taking photography classes at school for the past 3 years
but i wouldn'r mind starting with birthday partys or things in that area