Getting started into Macro - Raynox

HJW

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello everyone.
A while back I got very interested in macro. I used my nifty fifty, stacked with a couple of extension tubes, for macro, and when shooting 1:1, I'm restricted by a tripod, as well as the wind which always causes many OOF shots. After doing some research, I found out about the Raynox-250.

Though many reviews have claimed it as good, I would like to hear some first hand experience of those using the Raynox, what problems you usually face when using it, what lens you snap it on, sharpness and clarity, etc.

I've heard somewhere, that you literally have to push your lens right next to the subject, and as a complete beginner in macro photography, can someone please share their experience with this?

I use one on my 1:1 100mm.. and it is nice. Good clarity. You do lose some DOF... but it is reasonable. Distance to subject varies with what lens you use it on. Macro lenses usually require getting very close any way for 1:1 (usually 3" to 6" from the end of the lens), and the Raynox cuts that down some... but not bad. Do a search here for Raynox.. you will find plenty.

Here are some of mine :

http://www.thephotoforum.com/forum/...ew-raynox-dcr-250-add-lens-jumping-spider.html

http://www.thephotoforum.com/forum/...troduce-me-macro-photography.html#post2432986

You say your restricted to a tripod, right? So I'll assume you have no lighting equipment as of yet? I would look into a shoe mount flash and build a DIY macro flash diffuser.

Gipson: Your first link does not work, though I have checked out your second link. Seems rather sharp and worth the $.