Getting Started?

gamerz

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey guys,

I currently do photography as a hobbie and am loveing it. I came here wanting to know how to advance a little more and actually sell some of my photo's. Here are my questions:

1. How do you find a dealer to host your photo's and sell them for you?

2. What process's are needed before having a photo ready to sell?

3. Is getting a DSLR to big of a step this early into it?

Thats all for now... I think. If you need to know any more such as camera type, maybe want to see some of my pictures, please ask me, as long as it will help.

Thanks.

answer to number 3.

I got a DSLR and I'm not that experienced...but I'd say it's really a good investment. I take much better pictures, and I'm encouraged to take them more often because you get to manipulate your shots more, and settings are much easier to change. Plus, the lens system is great for swapping for different focal lengths or specialty lenses.

Your other two...I don't know...haven't got that far yet.

Thanks. Any help is appreciated.

I have been considering buying a used cheap DSLR, mabye a Cannon Rebel, or Nikon D40. Still using my 7.2 mp cybershot though.

Also here are some of my pictures, as you can see I like to take macro, mostly because it is the easiest, and there aren't any really good views by my house.

Here they are, tell me which ones you like.: http://ericdepaoli.myphotoalbum.com/albums.php

You might have to copy and paste into the bar.

Also note, none of the pictures have been edited. I have played around a little though in photoshop.

3. A cheap SLR would be the way to go if you're interested in taking it further. Having the control over the photo is definitely a good way to learn the art. Just don't go right in and buy a D200 expecting it to take wonderful photos for you.