Good beginner lenses.. Need opinions...

saharac

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi,

I am new to DSLR photography and I am just amazed by the lens options... I just bought the Canon T3i body (delivered today), and I was looking through some of the lenses to get started...
I dont want to spend big $$, but still want some quality..

The few of them I looked at and need your opinions on are:
Canon EF 28-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM
Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II
Canon EF-S 55-250mm f/4.0-5.6 IS
Canon EFS 18-55mm - standard kit lens
Canon EF-S 17-85mm 4-5.6 IS USM

I'm open to getting them used as well and am kinda leaning towards the Canon EF 28-135mm & Canon EF 50mm (used).

I do a mix of landscapes and portraits.. I want something that is a bit multi-purpose and good to travel with...

Appreciate your comments.

Cheers....

Hi,

I am new to DSLR photography and I am just amazed by the lens options... I just bought the Canon T3i body (delivered today), and I was looking through some of the lenses to get started...

Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II

I'm open to getting them used as well and am kinda leaning towards the Canon EF 28-135mm & Canon EF 50mm (used).

I do a mix of landscapes and portraits.. I want something that is a bit multi-purpose and good to travel with...

Cheers....

From some of my reading, Canon consumer lenses are not always very good. Canon make some fantastic L lenses but some of the kit lenses seem to be very lacking. Nikon's consumer glass seems to have quite a bit of an edge in my opinion! Then again Canon pro lenses are cheaper than Nikon's so I guess it evens out.

You may be better off looking at lenses such as the Tamron 17-50 or Sigma 17-70. Which are both decently rated! Welcome to Photozone! does some great reviews and it really does not rate lenses such as the 17-85. If you want a cheap and high quality Canon prime, the 85 1.8 is very highly rated by just about all.