Good Car Show Photography Lenses

SilliG

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
A little bit about myself I am an engineering student (which means I am opposite of artistic) and new to photography. I love cars and I just started to pick photography up as a hobby. I have a desire to do a lot better than I am currently doing now. I think my photos are o.k. but my biggest problem seems to be the more I back up from the car the less clear it becomes. Is this because of my lens? I use a Nikon 50mm 1.8 with my D90. Do I need a wide angle lens to capture a whole car clearly and still remain close to the vehicle? Not just one localized area on the car? Anyways here is my flickr for reference Flickr: SilliG25's Photostream to see how I am having trouble with capturing whole cars. Any good lens suggestions on what may help me out is great thanks

should be able to get good shots with a 50 1.8 There really isn't one specific lens. the lens I use allot is my 70-200 f/2.8 but thats when i have the room. otherwise i'll use a smaller lens, and sometimes a fisheye. i'm wondering if your just having deapth of field issue. though generally if your backing up your dof should be getting deeper.

Maybe it is a depth a field issue. Since I have to walk back to get the whole car in the frame i have to be pretty far away from the car with the 50mm 1.8 lens. Is there a way I can change my settings to make my shots more sharp. Should I adjust my F stop to a higher number then my shutter speed goes down n then nothing is in focus

Last edited:
Using a tripod will remedy the slow shutterspeed issue. I shoot cars allot when the suns going down so over half of my shots are used on a tripod