Good lens for video? (Beginner)

Danny_511

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey guys, im 16 and I want to start experimenting with dslr videos. This is my first dslr but im a self taught photographer and ive been doing it for about a year. Ive won a couple competitions and was a finalist in a worldwide highschool and college photography contest. Idk if that has anything at all to do with what im gonna ask about, but., idk I thought it'd help introducing myself.

anyways, I used to use a nikom l810 point and shoot to shoot little BS videos for my friends but needless to say, the 720p from the little CCD sensor didnt do much. Now that I have a DSLR, I want to start doing more serious videos. The kids out here (chicago) all think they're rappers and in turn, want music videos. I mean, if I do photo shoots AND videos, ill have a nice little source of income. Ok, im rambling again. My current camera is a Canon T1i, yes I know, its not the best but its all I could afford amd it gets the job done. Im planning on investing in a 160 led video light and a lens. My problem is, idk what kind of lens to look for that's good for video. Im assuming something with a wide angle right? I guess I won't need a zoom because, well zooming in videos just looks stupid.

I know this is a lot and I apologize for not just getting to the point, I figured you guys would want a little outside info. Any help at all would be great.

P.S please, dont tell me "you should've bought this camera so you can do this" etc. I understand this camera doesnt have a mic jack, I wouldnt need one for music videos since im just going to overlap the song onto the video.

What's your budget? I find the Sigma 17-70 to be great, but I also have a Canon 17-85 for sale ;)

-Ken Turner