good lens to step up from the kit lens, need range and sharpness!

janeJ

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
So I finally have the money to get any lens I want but the options are over whelming . i am very used to the 18-55 kit lens so i would like to stay as low as 18 but go up on the other end.. i have seen the 18-135, and 18-200 and a 17-85 obviously i am overwhelmed .. i want a sharper lens then the kit i have now, which has good range... what do you recommend. By the way I am a wedding photographer. i have read reviews but they all seem to be for the most part good. I don't know if the people leaving the reviews are professionals, hobbyist or just taking pictures of their kids. so some professional advice would be great.

thanks,
Jane

The Canon 70-200 f/2.8 IS is 'sharper than a serpent's tooth', as the saying goes, and it in many wedding photog's bags. You can't get much better. Underneath of it would be the 24-70 f/2.8. You can pick up the pair for around 5 grand....

thanks jim.. don't have any use for the zoom i have now..maybe 1 in 50 weddings i need it for a catholic ceremony. Being in new orleans, i find myself in tight places, little rooms or surrounded by crowds, so i will definitely look into the 24-70 f/2.8... i wish it was a wider angle though, i often do not have time to switch lenses, or people are literally running into me at receptions, not to long ago i was trying to put on my fish eye and some drunk ran right into me and i dropped it.. so i try to avoid switching lenses to much.

What other lenses do you shoot with normally ?