Having compression issues... need help

WesVFX

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.wesvfx.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey guys... I'm new at the portrait stuff but giving it a shot. Having some issues when saving my files as I'm losing a lot of color information and the photos look sort of washed out. You can see in the screenshot below the Left is the original RAW edited file in Photoshop. The Right is a high quality JPG.

I've tried saving in many different formats (TIFF, JPG, BITMAP, PNG) always coming to the same result. It's been MONTHS since I've touched any of my editing software or my camera for that matter and I feel like there is a setting or something I might be forgetting. I know RAW is the best quality and all the others are compressed, but there's got to be a way to save this and not lose all that information. I mean how are all the fantastic photography photos on the net that I see doing it?

Thanks in advance for your help!

This is a JPG Screenshot from MSPaint so don't judge the image quality LOL

15mla8g.jpg

When you say 'high quality' .jpg what do you mean? Is this saved at the lowest possible compression (highest file size)? Are you editing the .jpgs in any way? All of your editing should be done with images as either RAW, .tif, or .dng. Unlike these, .jpg is a lossy format, and each time you open it, edit it and save, you lose data. What software are you using, and what is your workflow?

Make sure that the Color space of the RAW Converter (Adobe Camera RAW) is the same as your working space. In other words make sure one is not Adobe RGB and the other sRGB. If they are also make sure that your warnings are set in your Photoshop preferences to tell you so and ask you what to do.

Make sure that if your working space in Photoshop is one that you are either, saving in that space or properly converting before saving.

Make sure when you do save the file, you embed the Color profile in the file so other software recognizes it.