Having Problems with ND Filters and Long Exposures

sbannon

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello Everyone,

I am brand new to photography (a few months out of auto) and even newer to this forum (first post). Before I knew anything about photography I decided to purchase a DSLR and purchased the Nikon D3000. I understand this is a very entry level DSLR and I plan to upgrade at some point soon.

I am preparing for a vacation that I am taking later on this year and I have been fooling around with some ND filters for long exposure photography. I ordered a set of ND filters on amazon which included the following filters: ND2, ND4, ND8 as well as the same in grad. I also have a 10-stop filter that I also ordered that hasn't showed up yet.

I understand that ND2 (1-stop), ND4 (2-stops) and ND8 (3-stops) are often not sufficient to allow for long enough exposures in broad daylight but I wanted to give long exposure a try.

I went out and set up my tripod and took a neutral exposure photo of a waterfall with autofocus. I turned off autofocus and then proceeded to use the three filters in series to effectively achieve 6-stops and attempt to obtain a long exposure. I understand this is not ideal but I was working with what I had.

What I found was that the long exposure photograph that came through was very washed out and blurry. I expected a subpar photo using the setup I had but the result was far worse than I expected. I have some suspect reasons why it has happened but being a new photographer I want some opinions.

Here are some of the reasons why I think that it is happening:

1. Limitations of the D3000
1. Limitations of the 18-55 f3.5-5.6 kit lens
2. Not covering the viewfinder (but I didn't expect this to be a huge factor at only a 2sec exposure)
3. Dirty Filters or Lenses (Although this did not appear to be the case upon inspection)
4. High humidity (it was hot and humid that day)
5. Filter stacking
6. Shite (cheap) filters.