HDR With a Nikon D3100

nerdkill

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello everyone this is my first post. I am new to photography and am finding out I purchased the wrong camera. When I first decided I wanted to take up photography as a hobby it was after looking at some HDR photos. Well, because i'm a dumbo I confused DSLR with HDR and didn't realize I needed to make sure I had bracketing which the D3100 does not. I've been messing around with Photomatix Pro and taking pictures and adjusting exposure manually while using a tripod. It is super frustrating having to manually change my exposure levels and I was wondering if anyone had any suggestions. I'm just out of my return period on my camera and I'm just so bummed right now. Again I'm brand new to photography so any suggestions on where I should start (even beyond HDR) will be greatly appreciated. :(

Taking shots manually isn't the end of the world. FWIW, my D7000 has auto-bracketing, but I rarely use it since it's limited to +/-2 EVs and can only do 3 shots. So I end up shooting manually anyway.

Besides, if I was the King of the World, anything 'Auto' would not be available to noobs.

Hmm, maybe this will be a blessing in disguise. I have been noticing i've been getting lazy with auto modes. So from what I've read I want to be in arpature priority and should take 3 pictures from -2 to + 2 and then process it, would you recommend full manual? And would you recommend those settings if I'm in a pinch and need to take a quick shot? Thanks i'm starting to feel a lot better about my camera.

very good.
674l675

????