heading down a new path. . .

Chuck

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I'm looking to get into photography (much) more seriously, after years of point-and-shoot.

I would like to focus on studio/portraiture work - - and in addition to the basics really learn: artificial lighting, capturing skin tones, posing, etc., etc.

For equipment, here's what I'm thinking:

Nikon D90
Nikon 50mm f/1.8D
Nikon SB-600

Plus, of course, lot's of reading, classes, and practice, practice, practice :D.

Any thoughts on this as a good starting kit?

Any other recommendations for starting down this path??

thanks,

Chuck

bump - - any help here??

thanks

Instead of the 50mm.... I would look at the 85 1.4...That is hands down the very best Nikon lens for portraits..... Fantastic lens!!! And...if you have not bought the D90 yet...The D300 is a great for the price.
Cheers, Joe

I'm just learning all this - - but doesn't the 85 get multiplied by 1.5 because of crop factor, leading to an effective Focal Length of ~130mm??

I'm sure that's a good FL for some portraits, but to start I was thinking of a cheaper lens, and one that would let me work more close in to my subjects.

What would the D300 give me for portraiture that I don't get on the D90?

thanks

For portraits you should use 85mm (75 - 100mm)

Instead of the 50mm.... I would look at the 85 1.4...That is hands down the very best Nikon lens for portraits..... Fantastic lens!!! And...if you have not bought the D90 yet...The D300 is a great for the price.
Cheers, Joe

Yes, but you're going from a hundred dollars to twelve hundred dollars for the lens alone. It would make sense to stay closer to the OP's ballpark and perhaps suggest the 85mm f/1.8. He can get that for $450.

For portraits you should use 85mm (75 - 100mm)

85mm on full-frame or crop frame??

plus an 85mm 1.4 lens is quite expensive for a beginner like me, I think

full frame tbh
a 50mm is 75mm equiv. on a 1.5x crop sensor (nikon)