Hello from Houston. Wanting new Nikon for dog action photos

muzoff

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi all,
Im new here, eager to read & learn, and mostly right now just needing some expert advice to make a decision.
Im a simple hobby photographer ( tho my dad was an army photographer), I will ashamedly admit to mostly shooting in Auto mode with my Nikon D50 and have an almost new D200 rarely used, it has more of a learning curve than I have time to give it. I want to catch dog action at home and at dog shows with more clarity than Ive been able to capture and from what Ive been reading, I need a faster camera in low light to do that. I also liketo shoot Macro. Im ready for a new Nikon to help me stop the action, but one that won't overwhelm me with too many adjustments. So do I stick with DX or is what I need FX or does it matter and would it be in any way a big or confusing change for me? Suggestions for models? Realistic budget <$1500.
My most used lenses are 18-200 & 70-200mm 2.8. Also lusting to add a 24-70mm.
- Suzanne

Welcome to the forum.

The d200 is a pretty fast camera and you have nice lenses but newer cameras do better in low light. I'd be tempted to recommend a d7000 as it is a step up in picture quality. The d7100 is also there but the buffer is smallish so it may not be the best choice for action. There is of course the d300 or d300s. They are the original upgrade to the d200.

First and foremost learn your d200 before you drop money on a new camera. The d200 was and still is capable. Learn about shutter speeds, iso and focus modes. You may find your camera is good enough after all, but if not you will at least know why and what you need to look for

Hi all,
Im new here, eager to read & learn, and mostly right now just needing some expert advice to make a decision.