Hello guys, I just want to ask what focal I should get?

vienhuynh

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I having these two right now:
Sigma 50mm f/1.4 EX DG HSM Lens
http://www.amazon.com/Sigma-50mm-Canon-D…
Canon EF 17-40mm f/4L USM Ultra Wide Angle Zoom Lens
http://www.amazon.com/Canon-17-40mm-Ultr…

I having these other 3 in mind, which I going to get in the future:
Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L USM Telephoto Zoom Lens
http://www.amazon.com/Canon-70-200mm-2-8…

Canon EF 85mm f/1.8 USM Medium Telephoto Lens
http://www.amazon.com/Canon-85mm-Medium-…

Canon EF 135mm f/2L USM Lens
http://www.amazon.com/Canon-135mm-USM-Le…
And I do love prime for portrait :)
So yea, I am an amateur but I love taking photos, for my gf, family, events (I love going to shows like hot air balloon, or air show), I found some big flower field too, and prob wild life later on. So how these lens

• well, what I really mean to ask you guys is that since I would definitely get the 135mm prime, should I get 70-200mm? since it cover 85mm also?

Last edited:
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
If you're getting the 135, definitely go with the 70-200. I used to own the 85 1.8, but I never used it because the 135 is just such an amazing lens. The 70-200 will give you better flexibility and some good reach.

Sent from my Transformer Prime TF201

But there are 5 different versions of the 70-200mm which one should I get? My heart saying f/2.8L IS II USM, my wallet say f/4L IS USM. I mean, what the difference between those 2 aperture can get???? And I usually handheld, so IS is a plus.

Last edited:
But there are 5 different versions of the 70-200mm which one should I get? My heart saying f/2.8L IS II USM, my wallet say f/4L IS USM. I mean, what the difference between those 2 aperture can get???? And I usually handheld, so IS is a plus.