HELP! 50D busy signal when connected via USB

wh1ppet

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I recently started shooting in RAW, and have 240 images on a Sandisk Extreme 3 CF card. When connecting to a computer, I'm getting a flashing "busy" message on the camera's top screen!

I waited for about 10 minutes and nothing's happening. Any advice would be helpful!

yeah, whenever you're connected to the USB it will flash busy... the only way it won't do this is if you're set up to tether.

Otherwise, it flashes busy to tell you that you can't take images, however you can still transfer images off the camera while it's flashing busy. All you have to do is go to the file browser and find your camera, and then transfer the image files to another place on your computer.

Never had to do it that way before. Usually a window would pop up on the camera asking if I want to transfer images.
How do you take it off tether mode?

I also tried to find the camera, but it will not allow images to be opened for some reason.

well, yeah, but if you look at the top of your camera even when the little thing box pops up to let you upload the images it will say busy.

In tethering mode I don't believe it would be flashing busy. Any time it is not in tethering mode and is connected to the computer it will be flashing busy. Thus, what is going on is perfectly normal. For tethering you need to use the tethering software included with the camera. The manual should explain it.

I'd invest in a decent card reader. It'll be quicker than your camera, and you can still use it (assuming you have a spare card handy) to take pictures while images are being transfered. I'd recommend getting a reader that supports a wide range of card types. They're a little more expensive, but if you get a new camera down the road that uses a different type of card, you don't have to buy a new reader.