Help! Canon 500D has stopped taking photos

cnvmackay

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi all,

I am relatively new to photography but post on here in the hope of finding someone with a little more experience.

I have a Canon 500D (I think this is sold as a Canon Rebel T1i in the rest of the world) which has stopped taking photos. I have only had it for 6 months and am heart broken that it won't work any more. I uploaded some photos to my computer using the USB cable then tried to use it a couple of days later and there was nothing. The upload may have nothing to do with it, but that at least did work fine when I did it. I have tried it in all modes and adjusted aperture and so on but still nothing.

When I press the shutter button there is a green dot which flashes in the bottom right hand side of the viewfinder but nothing else happens - the red dots in the viewfinder don't flash, and there is no shutter sound.

Has anyone heard of anything similar happening? Can anyone give me any suggestions?

Do let me know if you need any other info.

I would terribly grateful if I could recover it with your help!

Cate M

So it turns on but its not taking photo? Try switching the lens to manual, does it work now?

an obvious question, but.............battery fully charged?

Welcome to the forum.

Yes, first thing is to charge the battery. Then I'd suggest taking the lens off and putting it back on (just to make sure that it's on correctly).

Read your camera manual.

I just downloaded the T1i camera manual. The green light blinking inthe lower right corner of the viewfinder is the "Focus Confirmation Light". It is blinking because the camera cannot focus.
When the focus system is set to focus priority (usually the default option when AF-S is the selected focus mode), the shutter will only release when focus has been achieved. The flashing focus confirmation light indicated focus has not been achieved.