HELP ~ CAN'T DECIDE WHICH CAMERA IS BEST TO BEGIN WITH

amazing

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I have looked at the Canon 50d, 40d, and t1i. I like them all and know I surely want to start out with a Canon. What I want to be able to do with my camera is to be able to be able to take professional pictures of nature, babies, and sports. I would like to start a business, and I would like a camera that I can begin with (I am taking a photography class so I am not brand new to DSLR's) and then also take pictures of what I listed for a business to sell those pictures, what could I do?

I vote 50d, I love mine, but search, this has been covered plenty of times!

50D is the best one out of that list. Since you're looking at starting a business, I would buy the best you can afford. Also, the 50D comes with a pretty nice kit lens in comparison to the others.

Not yet I don't have pictures, I'm just beginning, I have taken a film class and I just started being enrolled in a Digital class, I used to use a film SLR. When you say which you prefer could you please elaborate? And the 50d looks a little too pricey, so between the t1i or the 40d or a canon camera that is equal or lesser priced, which do you prefer?

Last edited:
Glass quality is going to matter most...even if you went with an XSi. It's a good camera, limited by cheap glass. That said, just about any entry level camera will be fine for you, with good glass. Your question is pretty vague though. What is going to be important to you in a camera? All the things you listed (nature, babies, sports) will depend as much on the glass, as the body.