Help? Coloring

areuwhatudream

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.laurenbauer.smugmug.com
I wanted to post this picture to see what people thought. I was thinking I wanted to color in the little girl's outfit, to bring the focal point towards her among the business around her.

GirlSkirtcontrast.jpg

I'm new to Photoshop and dont have access to a darkroom right now to ACTUALLY handcolor this picture, but I don't know what the best way to do it in photoshop would be... or how to do it. Help greatly appreciated! :wink:

That is an awesome photo! I wouldn't change a thing! except maybe crop out the arm and leg on the right hand side of the frame.

Sorry, cant help with the handcoloring... If I was to guess, I would say add a layer and set the blending mode to color. Then pick the color you want and paint away.

wonderful image, personal I wouldn't colour this at - but thats only because I am not a fan of the technique.

I believe the girl stands out beautifully in this picture:

1. The lines on the background wall nearly align with her, its enough to draw interest to here without the distraction of perfect symetry
2. the lady walking out of the picture has angles that lead to the little, the arm angles to the top the girls head, the reflection of the leg lead up to her again.
3. The angle of the black girl bending her back also leads into the little.

The image is powerful and dreamlike, the ambience only adds the the surreal state. For me colour would take all the wonderful ambience away - currently I like the way my eyes roam around the pic- i prefer the subtleness of the picture the way it is!!! sorry that was a bit much, its only because I really LOVE this photo ;)

oh welcome on forum ;)

I really like this photo. I think it's strong as is but if you want to give the coloring a try here's what I do.